FirstLightErnest

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed.
  • Twitter
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • Digg

Friday, 15 June 2012

It's Another Of Those Things I Have To Get Out Of My System

Posted on 11:46 by Unknown
So Smallville Season 11 is going to have Batman and Superman finally meet, and Batman's partner/sidekick is going to be Nightwing. Except in this case, Nightwing turns out to be Stephanie Brown. Now, I'm not buying the comic myself, because I don't particularly care about Smallville, but as someone who likes Stephanie Brown, it's nice to see the character being used. By Bryan Q. Miller no less, someone with a pretty good track record with Steph*. And there are certainly some people excited about it, who will probably buy the comic because of this, and that's good.

Anyway, I did see this tumblr post with the complaint that Steph keeps stealing other character's identities, and when is she gonna create a legacy of her own? I know I should just ignore it, it's people on the Internet shooting their mouths off, but obviously it's too late for that or I wouldn't be typing this.

So, first point. This is Smallville continuity, so we have no idea as of yet about this Batman's history of sidekicks. For all we know, Steph is the first partner he's ever had, maybe just the first to call herself Nightwing. Or maybe not. There may have been one, or three, or seven partners before her, but we don't know. It's entirely possible there's no one in that universe for her to steal that identity from. Unless you're going to argue she's stealing it because there's a preexisting character in a completely separate fictional universe (which she's never seen, again, to our knowledge) that used the name first. In which case, Hal Jordan, Barry Allen, Ray Palmer, cyborg Red Tornado, to name a few, they're all thieves.

Second, this is DC we're talking about. This may have changed with the relaunch, but for what, 10, 15, 20 years prior to the "New 52", DC was pretty into legacies. The Flashes, the Green Lanterns, the Atoms, Superman and the Legion of Superheroes, the Legion of Superheroes and L.E.G.I.O.N.**, Starman, the Arrow family, the Blue Beetles, on and on. You couldn't swing a dead cat (which Roy Harper would mistakenly believe was his deceased daughter) without hitting a legacy hero in the DCU. Wasn't DC One Million about how the heroes had created something that would endure for centuries past their deaths? It wasn't considered stealing someone's thunder, it was honoring what they stood for and adding to it. In the old DCU, Jay Garrick might have been the first Flash, but the name grew beyond just him. It became a title, held by many people across time, each doing their best to uphold what they think it represents, and in the process adding to the cachet the title carries.

While it isn't unusual to see a hero get annoyed initially when someone else co-opts one of their costumed identities, what usually happens is the newcomer proves themselves, and the two form a general acceptance of each other, if not a friendship. It seems like the "stealing" only really applies when a villain does it as a way to tarnish the hero's name.

OK, but maybe the Batfamily is different. Not so much. I mean, if Steph "stole" the Batgirl identity, then so did Cassandra Cain, so did Helena Bertinelli, and pre-Crisis on the Infinite Earths, so did Barbara Gordon (though she was the first to spell it without a hyphen). If Steph "stole" the identity of Robin, then so has that little snot Damien Wayne, and so did Tim Drake and Jason Todd. Heck, if you follow Untold Legend of Batman continuity, even Dick Grayson stole the Robin I.D., because that story says a young Bruce Wayne donned the costume first to disguise himself while he learned from the world's greatest detective, Harvey Harris, who gave him the name "Robin". And "Nightwing" was an identity that either Batman or Superman used when they fought crime together in the bottle city of Kandor (the other was Flamebird, I forget which was which). Tim Drake wasn't the first Red Robin, Jason Todd wasn't the first Red Hood, on and on.

Honestly, the women characters in the Batverse seem better about picking out unique identities. Barbara Gordon was Oracle, obviously. Came up with that on her own, no input from the Bat (I think they may have changed that somewhere along the way, but I prefer to go with the interpretation she took that path all on her own). Cass Cain was Black Bat, which I don't think any other DC heroes have used. There hadn't been a Huntress in post-Crisis on Infinite Earths before Helena Bertinelli, what with Helena Wayne having lived in a different universe that was wiped out/merged with a bunch of other universes.

And, of course, Stephanie Brown was Spoiler. That's the identity she started with, it's the one she stuck with for the first 12 or so years the character existed. It's the one she went back to when Batsy fired her as Robin (under questionable circumstances), and the one she stuck to when she returned to Gotham after she recovered from her torture at the hands of Black Mask. Stephanie was Batgirl for about 2 years (our time), Robin for maybe 6 months, but she was Spoiler for close to 15 years. She's had her own identity, that she came up with on her own, not only independent of the Bat's input, but which she maintained for years in spite of his disapproval.

Seriously, if Stephanie Brown is stealing other people's identities/thunder, then so has practically every other character in the Batverse at some time or another. So have most of the character's in the DCU, period, at some point. Which makes it kind of strange to single her out for it.

* That's actually been my biggest concern since the relaunch with characters I like that I haven't seen. That they'll finally show up, and it'll be a disaster, because they handed Cass Cain to Beechen or Winick or whoever.


** I'm not sure how to count that one. Vril Dox' group came first, but Bedard set it up so the most recent iteration was built upon Vril having access to Brainiac 5's complete files on his Legion, sent from the future. I guess it goes Superman - Legion - L.E.G.I.O.N.?
Email ThisBlogThis!Share to XShare to FacebookShare to Pinterest
Posted in batgirl, batman, dc, rants, robin, spoiler | No comments
Newer Post Older Post Home

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom)

Popular Posts

  • A May Look At The June Previews Of The August Releases
    The solicits for August releases are out, and there's a little good news, a little bad news, and a few things that are exasperating. - G...
  • A Dash Through The Solicits
    Three things relevant to me in the latest batch of solicitations: - New Atomic Robo mini-series! Savage Sword of Doctor Dinosaur! I wonder...
  • It Takes Real Brains To Always Avoid Illumination
    I mentioned in my review of Daredevil 20 & 21 that I believe the shadowy figures responsible for the creation of Coyote are also the peo...
  • Tales From The Woods #9
    We made a quick run back to the house for some essentials before returning to Site 3. I just grabbed some water and a headlamp. CAP brought ...
  • Burn Notice 3.15 - Good Intentions
    Plot: It's down to the wire now. Mike has a meeting with Gilroy that turns into a shopping trip. The visit to the "Knights of Resi...
  • A Whole Bunch of Weekend Stuff
    Yesterday was post #2500 here at Reporting on Marvels and Legends. Which makes this my 2500th post, since Papafred has one in there. One of ...
  • Burn Notice 4.18 - Last Stand
    Plot: Vaughn's in Miami. He wants to list, he knows Michael has it. Mike, Fi, and Jesse plan to hide it in a nuclear facility, where pr...
  • What I Bought 6/6/2012 - Part 4
    For a while there, I'd convinced myself I would ask Jack not to send the AvX tie-ins for Secret Avengers . Just ditch the book for a fe...
  • A Little About Hall Of Fame Voting
    The results for this year's Baseball Hall of Fame voting are supposed to be released Wednesday. Right now, there doesn't seem to be ...
  • The More He Struggles, The More He Sinks
    I've been working my way through another collection of noir films. The first three ( Whirlpool , Shock , They Made Me a Criminal ) haven...

Categories

  • 52 (1)
  • absurdity (6)
  • adam warlock (1)
  • amanda waller (2)
  • angel and faith (22)
  • ann nocenti (9)
  • arcade (1)
  • art (7)
  • asimov (6)
  • atomic robo (13)
  • avengers (2)
  • avengers arena (8)
  • aviation (2)
  • avx (8)
  • batgirl (4)
  • batman (5)
  • batman beyond (12)
  • bkv (2)
  • black cat (1)
  • black widow (2)
  • blackest night (1)
  • blogkeeping (2)
  • books (57)
  • btvs (6)
  • burn notice (74)
  • busiek (1)
  • cable/deadpool (1)
  • captain america (8)
  • captain marvel (11)
  • christos gage (3)
  • civil war (1)
  • clint eastwood (2)
  • comicon (5)
  • cyclops (3)
  • daredevil (13)
  • darkwing duck (1)
  • dbz (1)
  • dc (1)
  • DCnu (9)
  • death (9)
  • defenders (7)
  • dial h (9)
  • diversions (30)
  • doug tennapel (2)
  • dr. doom (1)
  • dr. strange (2)
  • dreams (3)
  • dustin nguyen (1)
  • dwayne mcduffie (2)
  • earthworm jim (4)
  • episode rundowns (74)
  • faith (1)
  • fantastic four (2)
  • fashion (3)
  • favorite games (5)
  • flash (2)
  • food (1)
  • gabriel hardman (1)
  • ghost rider (1)
  • grammar (3)
  • green arrow (11)
  • green lantern (4)
  • grifter (1)
  • grimjack (1)
  • hair (1)
  • hawkeye (13)
  • hawkeye and mockingbird (1)
  • heroclix (5)
  • holiday (3)
  • huntress (2)
  • hypothetical (26)
  • ink-stained trail (13)
  • iron fist (3)
  • iron man (1)
  • jack kirby (1)
  • jla (9)
  • joe casey (2)
  • joe kubert (1)
  • katana (3)
  • kelly sue deconnick (1)
  • lex luthor (1)
  • madrox (1)
  • movies (69)
  • mr. fantastic (1)
  • music (2)
  • mystique (1)
  • nightwing (1)
  • norm breyfogle (1)
  • nova (1)
  • nu52 (1)
  • oracle (1)
  • ostrander (2)
  • panda (13)
  • peter milligan (1)
  • photos (3)
  • proposal (9)
  • proposal spider-man (1)
  • pull (11)
  • punisher (1)
  • question (1)
  • rants (15)
  • rebekah isaacs (2)
  • rebels (1)
  • resurrection man (4)
  • reviews (88)
  • rick remender (4)
  • robin (2)
  • rocketeer (7)
  • roger stern (2)
  • rogue (2)
  • romita (1)
  • runaways (1)
  • science (10)
  • sean mckeever (1)
  • secret avengers (20)
  • sergio leone (3)
  • sherlock holmes (2)
  • sienkiewicz (1)
  • skreemer (1)
  • solicits (9)
  • spider-man (5)
  • spike (1)
  • spoiler (4)
  • sports (7)
  • stacy x (1)
  • starfire (1)
  • suicide squad (4)
  • superman (3)
  • tales from the woods (10)
  • theory (50)
  • time travel (6)
  • tv (80)
  • ultimate spider-man (1)
  • ultron (1)
  • uncalvinpitt (2)
  • venom (1)
  • video games (32)
  • warbird (6)
  • wildcats (1)
  • wolverine (2)
  • x-factor (2)
  • x-men (10)
  • year in review (6)

Blog Archive

  • ►  2013 (208)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (30)
    • ►  June (30)
    • ►  May (26)
    • ►  April (29)
    • ►  March (28)
    • ►  February (27)
    • ►  January (30)
  • ▼  2012 (292)
    • ►  December (28)
    • ►  November (29)
    • ►  October (31)
    • ►  September (29)
    • ►  August (30)
    • ►  July (29)
    • ▼  June (30)
      • Having An Angry Brit In Your Head Can't Be Fun
      • I'm Not Up On Criminal Euphemisms
      • No One Likes A Cosmic Know-It-All. Or At Least, I ...
      • Ollie's Half A Hero
      • Cloak Needs To Fine Tune The Darkness Sensor In Hi...
      • There's More To Nature, Leer, Than Dreamt Of In Yo...
      • Burn Notice 2.10 - Do No Harm
      • Time For Angel To Get On The Responsibility Bus
      • Hank McCoy Is A Big Jerk! Or Just Stressed Out
      • Angel May Have Been The Villain This Time
      • Maybe Becoming Green Mist Has Rotted His Brain
      • Debating The Merits Of Spidey Trolling Daredevil
      • The Joys Or Miseries Of Dangling Plot Threads
      • Burn Notice 2.9 - Good Soldier
      • Designing A Suit To Run On Confidence? A Daring Ch...
      • It's Another Of Those Things I Have To Get Out Of ...
      • What's In The Box, Er, Drawer?!
      • Four Answers About The New DC
      • What I Bought 6/6/2012 - Part 5
      • What I Bought 6/6/2012 - Part 4
      • Burn Notice 2.8 - Double Booked
      • What I Bought 6/6/2012 - Part 3
      • What I Bought 6/6/2012 - Part 2
      • What I Bought 6/6/2012 - Part 1
      • What Do You Do When There's No More Covert Action ...
      • Let's Talk Favorite Game Gear Games
      • Hanna
      • Burn Notice 2.7 - Rough Seas
      • I Liked Sports Games More When They Were Simpler
      • Speaking Of Unforgiven
    • ►  May (31)
    • ►  April (30)
    • ►  March (25)
Powered by Blogger.

About Me

Unknown
View my complete profile